Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat in Fractured Foil Review

For those of you who are still following my blog in hopes of some nail related update, here we go. It’s not Konad, but it’s kinda cute 🙂 I picked up a bottle of the new Sally Hansen Crackle in Fractured Foil (which looks very similar to Zoya Trixie BTW and decided to give it a go. I got mine at Rite-Aid for $6.99, but I have seen them at Walgreens and Ulta as well. The instructions says “Do not apply to bare nails. Apply two coats of your favorite Sally Hansen nail color. Once dried, add a thin or thick coat (depending on desired effect) of any Crackle Overcoat shade. Do not leave the bottle open, close tightly when not in use. Allow it to dry and seal with any Sally Hansen top coat.” Obviously, you don’t need to use your favorite Sally Hansen nail color under the Crackle Overcoat nor do you need a Sally Hansen top coat to seal it off. I’m sure most of you know that, but I figured I’d throw that out there.

My sandwich is as follows:

  1. Base coat: American Classics Gelous Nail Gel
  2. Base color: One coat of Barry M Cobalt Blue
  3. Crackle color: One coat of SH Crackle Overcoat Fractured Foil (more on this below)
  4. Top coat: One coat of Seche Vite

I didn’t wait until my base color (Barry M Cobalt Blue) to dry completely before I applied the Crackle and it seemed to have cracked just fine. I basically painted my 10 nails with the Cobalt Blue then went over it with the Crackle. No problems. The application method is a bit different with the crackle. If you want a bolder look, then you need to start with a big glob of crackle, making sure that you don’t make a huge mess. It didn’t really want to crack when I quickly applied two thin coats of Crackle. I think that a one-swipe motion worked better for me.

Enough with the gabbing: here is the result:

Barry M Cobalt Blue with Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat Fractured Foil

The lasting power is pretty much the same as any other Sally Hansen color that I own. It held up pretty well over the weekend where I did a lot of cleaning, sticker picking (I know I know), etc. By the way, for those of you who has owned the CoverGirl Crackles back when they had those in the mid 90s, this is a million times better!

Bottom line: it’s pretty neat! I would give it a 4 out of 5. I knocked off a point because of the globbing method you need to do to achieve a more opaque look over dark colors. It’s not that big of a deal though.

4 responses to “Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat in Fractured Foil Review

  1. That looks so cool, I love that shade of blue. It’s so nice to see posts from you again! 🙂

  2. Silver is my favorite of the shatter/crackle colors! The solids tend to be more… tar-like.

  3. This is a very nice post. The coats were wonderfully applied. Very good combination. So exquisite.

  4. Today, people are more conscious about their looks, their body and their health than they were ten years ago. This has prompted to change in lifestyles and quick acceptance of new methods and strategies that contribute to better health or beauty.

Leave a comment